New Words – March 30, 2015

MalihaThe Word Game Players’ Organization (WGPO) is pleased to announce that the long-awaited new words will go into effect for WGPO tournaments as of March 30, 2015.
After putting in years of work on Word Judge USA and the upcoming Word Judge 2 for North America (WJ2), Maliha Mendoza Mahmood has generously allowed WGPO to use her lexicon as a word source for clubs and tournaments.  WJ2 is intended to be an authoritative lexicon for Super Scrabble®, with words from 2 through 21 letters long.  The subset of WJ2 words from 2 through 15 letters long will be used for Scrabble®.  We believe the WJ2 lexicon will be consistent with the upcoming TWL3 to be used for NASPA events, so that the North American Scrabble® community can use either source with confidence.  According to Ms. Mahmood, the WJ2 lexicon in electronic format will be made freely available to anyone.
Note that the WJ2 lexicon does not contain definitions or parts of speech; it is simply a word list.  While a WJ2 app for smart phones and tablets is pending, a text file may be uploaded into current open source versions of the Zyzzyva word study program and used for adjudications as well as learning.  A printed book version of WJ2 will also be available in the near future.
A big thanks to Maliha, and happy studying to all.
The WGPO Executive Committee and Board of Player Representatives
Steve Pellinen, for the WGPO EC and BPR
Scrabble® is a registered trademark of Hasbro, Inc. in North America and of Mattel, Inc. in the rest of the world.  The Word Game Players’ Organization is not affiliated with Hasbro or Mattel.


Dr. Gregg Wood October 22, 1918 – January 8, 2015

GreggGregg’s club and tournament career stretched from 1987 thru 2009.  During that time, he played 3835 club games and participated in about 200 tournaments.  His peak rating, according to Cross-tables, was 1439.  We in Oregon treasure the many times we faced him across the board and fondly recall the happy times when he came across an idle piano and just had to liven it up.

Here’s what the local newspaper has to say about Gregg:

2014 WGPO Elections: Results

The Nominations and Elections Committee has reviewed the election results, and unanimously agreed to certify them as posted. We thank all of the candidates for their willingness to serve. One position was open for the Executive Committee; two positions were open on the Board Of Player Representatives.

Candidate selected for the Executive Committee was Keith Hagel 

Candidates selected for the Board of Player Representatives were  Susi Tiekert and Bennett Jacobstein

# of eligible members voted =107

Poll Name                                                            Poll Option               Tally 

Voting Ballot for BPR                                     Susi Tiekert                72

Voting Ballot for BPR                                     Bennett Jacobstein     70

Voting Ballot for Executive Committee        Keith Hagel                 68

Voting Ballot for Executive Committee        Winter                          36

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all who participated.

hank you to Henry Yeung for making it possible to conduct the voting in a secure site and assuring that it went smoothly. Thanks to Melissa Brown for broadcasting election information to the membership. And thank you to all who voted.


WGPO Nominations and Elections Committee

Cabo Pinniped Wants to Play (or maybe just wants a handout)

Sea Lion
Players got acquainted with the locals as they enjoyed the sunshine in Cabo San Lucas.  Then they partied.  And when they had nothing better to do, they played some games.

Photos from Scott Smith.








IMG_0906     IMG_0908

Here are the winners:  Division 1 (right to left) Marcia Wade, Marc Levesque, Tobey Roland, Amnon Igra.  Division 2 (right to left) Denise Mahnken, Audrey Pelfrey, B A Toole, Wayne Scruggs

Cabo Div 1   Cabo Div 2

2014 WGPO Election Instructions

Sent on behalf of the WGPO Nominations and Elections Committee
Voting is now open for the Word Game Players’ Organization election of
members to its Executive Committee (EC) and Board of Player Representatives (BPR). Members will elect one candidate to serve on the EC, and two to serve on the BPR.
Voting is limited to WGPO members; anyone who joined on or before November 30, 2014 is eligible to participate.

To vote:
1. Go to WGPO’s polls forum,
2. If prompted to log in, enter your username and password. (Note: If you
have forgotten your username, feel free to contact Melissa Brown, WGPO
Member Liaison, . If you have forgotten your password,as long as you have the correct username, you can reset your password byfollowing the prompts under the “membership” tab).
3.  Select the WGPO December 2014 Election topic.  Candidates’ campaignstatements, if provided, can be found there, as well as the ballots.  There are two candidates for the one open seats on the Executive Committee: Keith Hagel and Winter.

There are two candidates for two open seats on the Board of Player Representative: Susi Tiekert and Bennett Jacobstein
Members will be able to vote for one candidates for the EC and up to two for the BPR. No member may vote more than once for any individual
candidate, and no votes may be changed once they are submitted
Voting will conclude on December 14, 2014, at 11:59 PM PST, and results
will be published within 72 hours.
The election is being administered by the WGPO Nominations and Elections Committee, whose members are Sue Hoehn, Fran Galt and Leslie Millard. The committee shall be the arbiter of any disputes.  Concerns or questions should be addressed to any of the committee members. Technical questions or problems should be addressed to Henry Yeung at
While this election primarily will be conducted online, the WGPO will try
to assist members who wish to vote by mail. Mail-in ballots (with your
name, contact information and the names of the candidates for whom you are voting) may be sent to Sue Hoehn, 2184 Scheffer Ave, St Paul MN 55116. They must be received by December 14, 2014.
Thank you,
WGPO Nominations and Elections Committee

Fran Galt

Sue Hoehn

Leslie Millard