Good Za In West Linn, Oregon

Za Nov 2014

Sixteen players enjoyed the ambience of Round Table Pizza while playing six games November 15.  Rich Moyer was our able director.  Winners were Carl Johnson, Betty Cornelison, and Joanne Manson.  We contributed $80 to the 2015 Word Cup fund.

Carl Johnson, Division 1 Winner

Carl Johnson, Division 1 Winner

Betty Cornelison, Divsion 2 Winner

Betty Cornelison, Divsion 2 Winner

Joanne Manson, Division 3 winner

Joanne Manson, Division 3 winner

Good news for East Coast players


The word game scene has become livelier with the addition of several WGPO tournaments this Fall.  Winter ran Collins tournaments in Cambridge, Maryland, on October 25 and 26 and November 8 and 9.  Shown here are players at the November 8 tournament, won by Carl Durdan.

TWL and Collins players are invited to participate in two tournaments in Charlottesville, Virginia, on December 13 and 14.  See “Upcoming Tournaments” for details.


Colorado sent pictures, Iowa sent results

We’ve heard from two tournaments conducted over the weekend.

Loveland 1             Loveland 2   Loveland 3     Loveland 4

David Goldberg sent these scenes from Loveland, Colorado, November 8.

Wisconsin won the Minnesota-Wisconsin Border Battle, waged in Decorah, Iowa, November 8 – 9, with 2.8 games over expectation.  Director Mike Johnson reported these winners:

Team Minnesota:
1st: Steve Pellinen (11-3 +1332)
2nd: Lisa Odom (10-4 +1377)
Performance 1: Kathleen Murphy (+1.1 over expectation)
Performance 2: Bobbi Hendrickson (+.2 over expectation)
2nd Best Upset: Melissa Brown (+477 rating diff)
Team Wisconsin:
1st: Mike Johnson (10-4 +589)
2nd: Namoli Brennet (9-5 +68)
Performance 1: Ron Malzer (+2.1 over expectation)
Performance 2: Helen Flores (+1.5 over expectation)
Best Upset: Trish Coriden (+990 rating difference)

Dells Spell – 31st Edition

Stephanie Steele

Stephanie Steele

Oct 10 – 12, 2014.  Wisconsin Dells, 31 years and counting.  First under Scrabble® Players, then under NSA, then under NASPA and now under WGPO auspices.  Some things change, but it’s still Scrabble®, still a great group of players, great fall colors and often great weather.  It’s even enough of a home away from home for Minnesota players that we took advantage of Stephanie Steele’s last minute attendance and inducted her into the Minnesota Scrabble® Hall of Fame.


After hours found players sharing meals together, trying their hand at some informal Collins games with cheat sheets, sampling local beers and cheese, doing a special Dells-themed crossword puzzle created by Steve Bachman, or trying their hand at the hilariously depraved Cards Against Humanity.  A silent auction ably run by Helen Flores raised over $400 for next year’s Word Cup in Portland OR.


The Early Bird winners were Steve Pellinen Div A and Julia Bogle Div B (as the bottom seed!).  Main Event winners were Lisa Odom Div A, Kevin Schmiedicke Div B, Bobbi Hendrickson Div C and Paul Kyllonen Div D.  The Collins Event was won by Scott Jackson.


By Steve Pellinen, Tournament Director






Dells Players Doing Their Thing

Dells Players Doing Their Thing

Phoenix Players Undaunted by Storm


Sara Boykan and Lynn Hall complete their game during a power outage with the help of a friend holding a cell phone torchlight.

Sara Boykan and Lynn Hall complete their game during a power outage with the help of a friend holding an IPhone torchlight.

Photo by Barbara Van Alen

Report from Larry Rand:
The Phoenix One Day tournament was held at the Chris Ridge Village Retirement Center.  Everything started out just fine!  Newlywed, Evan Fishman, won the “early entry award,” a $25 gift certificate to Cracker Barrel.  The first three games before lunch all went as planned.  After lunch, game 4 was successfully completed.  Then, near the end of game 5 at about 2:30PM, a torrential downpour and gale force winds hit Phoenix from the west.  The lights flickered once, then all the lights went out!  The Center has an emergency generator and essential lights were on, but the activity room was pitch dark.   Most of the tally slips had been turned in for round 5, but three pairings had not completed their games.  Players with “flashlight” apps on their cell phones came to the rescue and the three final games were completed.

Everyone waited around for an hour.  Barbara and I huddled to decide what we would do.  Then, one of our club players, Lynn Hall, said that the game room had lights.  The game room had six oversized wooden card tables.  That would not take care of all of us.  Players starting moving equipment from the activities room to the game room.  Two 6 foot tables had to be brought over and extra chairs.  We were able to fit everybody in cozily.  Right before we were ready to start round 6, ALL the lights came back on.  We decided to stay put.  That experience was a first.
Division A
1st Laurie Cohen  6-2 +554 $100
2nd Larry Rand 5-3  +48 $80
Best over seed Sarah King 4 ranks over seed $60
High Game Jeff Kastner (533) $10
High Loss Travis Carlson (466) $10  (lost to Jim Lamerand <472>)
Division B
1st  Satya Mahapatra 6-2 +328 $90   (Satya was seeded 8th of 8 players)
2nd Andrew Schwartzberg 5-3 +245 $70
BOS Erik Anderson 1 rank over seed $50   (Satya and Andrew were overseed, too.)
High Game Satya Mahapatra (531) $10
High Loss Erik Anderson (439) $10    (lost to Barbara Van Alen <440>)
Division C
1st Karin Somerville 6-2 +523 $80
2nd Linda Stephens 6-2 +381 $65
BOS Zach Simon 2 ranks over seed $45    (This was Zach’s first tournament!)
High Game Karin Somerville (458) $10
High Loss Evan Fishman (417) $10
All in all in, it was a wonderful tournament.  The storm provided an opportunity for a bit of socializing and weather watching.