Cabo Pinniped Wants to Play (or maybe just wants a handout)

Sea Lion
Players got acquainted with the locals as they enjoyed the sunshine in Cabo San Lucas.  Then they partied.  And when they had nothing better to do, they played some games.

Photos from Scott Smith.








IMG_0906     IMG_0908

Here are the winners:  Division 1 (right to left) Marcia Wade, Marc Levesque, Tobey Roland, Amnon Igra.  Division 2 (right to left) Denise Mahnken, Audrey Pelfrey, B A Toole, Wayne Scruggs

Cabo Div 1   Cabo Div 2

2014 WGPO Election Instructions

Sent on behalf of the WGPO Nominations and Elections Committee
Voting is now open for the Word Game Players’ Organization election of
members to its Executive Committee (EC) and Board of Player Representatives (BPR). Members will elect one candidate to serve on the EC, and two to serve on the BPR.
Voting is limited to WGPO members; anyone who joined on or before November 30, 2014 is eligible to participate.

To vote:
1. Go to WGPO’s polls forum,
2. If prompted to log in, enter your username and password. (Note: If you
have forgotten your username, feel free to contact Melissa Brown, WGPO
Member Liaison, . If you have forgotten your password,as long as you have the correct username, you can reset your password byfollowing the prompts under the “membership” tab).
3.  Select the WGPO December 2014 Election topic.  Candidates’ campaignstatements, if provided, can be found there, as well as the ballots.  There are two candidates for the one open seats on the Executive Committee: Keith Hagel and Winter.

There are two candidates for two open seats on the Board of Player Representative: Susi Tiekert and Bennett Jacobstein
Members will be able to vote for one candidates for the EC and up to two for the BPR. No member may vote more than once for any individual
candidate, and no votes may be changed once they are submitted
Voting will conclude on December 14, 2014, at 11:59 PM PST, and results
will be published within 72 hours.
The election is being administered by the WGPO Nominations and Elections Committee, whose members are Sue Hoehn, Fran Galt and Leslie Millard. The committee shall be the arbiter of any disputes.  Concerns or questions should be addressed to any of the committee members. Technical questions or problems should be addressed to Henry Yeung at
While this election primarily will be conducted online, the WGPO will try
to assist members who wish to vote by mail. Mail-in ballots (with your
name, contact information and the names of the candidates for whom you are voting) may be sent to Sue Hoehn, 2184 Scheffer Ave, St Paul MN 55116. They must be received by December 14, 2014.
Thank you,
WGPO Nominations and Elections Committee

Fran Galt

Sue Hoehn

Leslie Millard

Good Za In West Linn, Oregon

Za Nov 2014

Sixteen players enjoyed the ambience of Round Table Pizza while playing six games November 15.  Rich Moyer was our able director.  Winners were Carl Johnson, Betty Cornelison, and Joanne Manson.  We contributed $80 to the 2015 Word Cup fund.

Carl Johnson, Division 1 Winner

Carl Johnson, Division 1 Winner

Betty Cornelison, Divsion 2 Winner

Betty Cornelison, Divsion 2 Winner

Joanne Manson, Division 3 winner

Joanne Manson, Division 3 winner

Good news for East Coast players


The word game scene has become livelier with the addition of several WGPO tournaments this Fall.  Winter ran Collins tournaments in Cambridge, Maryland, on October 25 and 26 and November 8 and 9.  Shown here are players at the November 8 tournament, won by Carl Durdan.

TWL and Collins players are invited to participate in two tournaments in Charlottesville, Virginia, on December 13 and 14.  See “Upcoming Tournaments” for details.