Reno Was Great!

The Reno GangSome of us even won money.   We all had a good time.  Here we are posing after the awards ceremony.

Photo by Patricia Wong.



Rick and Patricia Wong selecting the Friend of the Director winner.

Rick and Patricia                                          Rick at work Rick at work.

Summer In Oregon – How Wonderful!

JoanneTom LackafNoah

 And Oregonians know how to enjoy it.  Only a trace of rain fell during the afternoon.  Several games were played in the sunshine on Scott’s patio.  I was too busy enjoying the ambience to take many pictures, but did manage to catch some of the winners.   Here are Joanne Manson, Tom Lackaff, and Noah Walton.

.RichOur director par excellence, Rich Moyer.                                    ScottScott Smith was our genial host.




Tempe Has Its Tenth!

We celebrated the 10th anniversary of our Scrabble® Club in Tempe, AZ with a tournament on Saturday, June 14.
group w Sara

Some highlights: 

20140614_174037In Division 1, Jim Lamerand, probably the club’s most loyal member, was Gibsonized for the final round and took first place with a 7-1 record. Travis Carlson, who drove up from Tucson, took second.  Director Laurie Cohen was third.




Patti Merrill, our newest club member, played in her first tournament and had her first ever tournament win.  We had two special prizes and three door prizes.  “Contains the most letters in TEMPE” (with ties broken by highest score) was won by Travis Carlson with EMPTIERS (76).  He also won “highest multiple of 10” with WORKMATES – a nine letter bingo that scored 110!  He won a set of injection molded Protiles and $20.  Door prizes included a Scrabble themed pencil case (won by Martin Janowski), two free dinners at Sweet Tomatoes Restaurant (won by Satya Mahapatra), and another set of Protiles (won by Mark Budovitch).

20140614_173926In Division 2, Martin Janowski took first with a 6-2 record and Susan Kessler took second with 5-3.  Satya Mahapatra was third.




It was a lovely day and a great commemoration of our 10th year.

LaurieSubmitted by Laurie Cohen.

Lester Schonbrun Memorial Tournament – Winners

LS Div 1

This was another fun-filled tournament ably organized and directed by Bennett Jacobstein.  The weather was ideal and the companionship was terrific.  In addition to the division prizes, there was a special prize for the word best describing Lester Schonbrun.  Dominick Mancine won this with “beloved”.  First place winners in both divisions received a commemorative hat in addition to prize money.

Here are the winners of Division 1:  Rich Moyer (4th), Kevin Fraley (3rd), Jon Shreve(2nd), Lewis Martinez (1st), and Henry Yeung (Best over Seed).  Bruce Ward had high game and Jon Shreve had high loss.

Photo by Scott Smith


LS Div 2Division 2 winners:  Ron Barker (Best Over Seed), Scott Smith (High Game), Dan Unger (rear) (1st), Alan Kait (front) (3rd), Denise Mahnken (4th), Amtonio Cracchiolo (High Loss).  Not pictured:  Barbara Van Alen (2nd).


Photo by Polly Moyer




BennettBennett Jacobstein wearing a New York Giants hat in tribute to Lester.

Revelry In Campbell, California


What happens at the Pruneyard doesn’t stay at the Pruneyard.  Here we are taking a night off from our serious pursuits.   You’ll see the tournament winners later this week.  Photos by Scott Smith.Buco di Beppo 2Buco di Beppo 1

Australia to Hawaii – 40 Games

IMG_6775Here are the sailors:  Jack Eichenbaum, Laura Scheimberg, Hilda Ben-Nun, Jill Turney, Barbara Van Alen, Mark Pistolese, Pat Morfesis, Larry Rand, Cheryl Melvin, Teresa Schaeffer, Denise Mahnken, and Siri Tillekeratne.  Mark went 31-9 to win Division 1, while Denise topped Division 2 with her 26 – 14 record.