Lester Schonbrun Memorial Tournament – Winners

LS Div 1

This was another fun-filled tournament ably organized and directed by Bennett Jacobstein.  The weather was ideal and the companionship was terrific.  In addition to the division prizes, there was a special prize for the word best describing Lester Schonbrun.  Dominick Mancine won this with “beloved”.  First place winners in both divisions received a commemorative hat in addition to prize money.

Here are the winners of Division 1:  Rich Moyer (4th), Kevin Fraley (3rd), Jon Shreve(2nd), Lewis Martinez (1st), and Henry Yeung (Best over Seed).  Bruce Ward had high game and Jon Shreve had high loss.

Photo by Scott Smith


LS Div 2Division 2 winners:  Ron Barker (Best Over Seed), Scott Smith (High Game), Dan Unger (rear) (1st), Alan Kait (front) (3rd), Denise Mahnken (4th), Amtonio Cracchiolo (High Loss).  Not pictured:  Barbara Van Alen (2nd).


Photo by Polly Moyer




BennettBennett Jacobstein wearing a New York Giants hat in tribute to Lester.

Revelry In Campbell, California


What happens at the Pruneyard doesn’t stay at the Pruneyard.  Here we are taking a night off from our serious pursuits.   You’ll see the tournament winners later this week.  Photos by Scott Smith.Buco di Beppo 2Buco di Beppo 1

Australia to Hawaii – 40 Games

IMG_6775Here are the sailors:  Jack Eichenbaum, Laura Scheimberg, Hilda Ben-Nun, Jill Turney, Barbara Van Alen, Mark Pistolese, Pat Morfesis, Larry Rand, Cheryl Melvin, Teresa Schaeffer, Denise Mahnken, and Siri Tillekeratne.  Mark went 31-9 to win Division 1, while Denise topped Division 2 with her 26 – 14 record.

Madison Celebrates Spring

MadisonPhotoPlayers enjoyed Springtime and muffins while playing eight games in Madison April 19.  Here are the winners:  Susan Vergeront 1st division B, Carol Gibbs 2nd division B, Thomas Reinke 3rd division A, Peter Schmiedicke 2nd division A, Charles Reinke 1st division A.

Photo from Mike Johnson

We’re All Winners In Portland!

April In PortlandSome of us won money, some did not.  But we all had fun.  Left to right:  Jesse Wornum (2nd place, Div 2), Leesa Bergeron (1st, Div 3), Tom Lackaff, Carl Johnson (1st, Div 1), Joanne Manson (2nd Div 3) Scott Smith (3rd Div 3), Kathy Sutrov (1st Div 2), Dave Johnson, Ruth Hamilton, Rich Moyer (2nd Div 1).

Photo by Polly Moyer


Happy Winners in Bloomington, Minnesota

Bloomington 140330 Div ABloomington 140330 Div C

Collins WinnersBloomington 140330 Div B

The Spring Fling played out last weekend as the snow melted outdoors.  Here are Joe Gaspard, Vincent VanDover, Lisa Odom, Paul Kyllonen, Bobbie Hendrickson, Cal Cooper, Andre Kreikmann, Diane Weinerman, Jim Kramer, Tim Adamson, Rob Robinsky, Anita Berry, Stephanie Steele, MaryKrizan, Dave Lockrem.  Well, most of them look happy.